The Transition Network


LONG Island Chapter Special Interest Groups

 

SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS
 

SIGs are member-driven, which means any valid TTN LI chapter member who wishes to start a group may do so.  SIGs are topic or activity focused, and bring members together who share that special interest.  SIGs are as varied as the organization’s members who think them up. Some examples include book clubs, travel (foreign and domestic), Canasta, Mah Jong and other games, dining out, theatre, movies, walking/hiking, gourmet cooking, crafts, golf, day trips, etc.  Take a look below at the SIGs that currently exist.  Contact a group of your choice that fits in with your schedule to find out if an opening exists or if they have a wait list.  If you find that is not an option, contact Debbie Fox, Membership Services Committee Chair at  vixen1@optonline.net with your idea and the Committee will assist you in forming a new group.

 

 DAYTIME BOOK CLUBS  

(*=Open)
 

*BOOK GALS - 2nd Monday - 12:30-2:30pm - Diane Webster sneakers.mom

COVER TO COVER - 2nd Tuesday – Ruth Weinberg attorneysmom@yahoo.com

*LIT 1st  Tuesday – Gloria Wilens --mgwilens@hotmail.com

*A NOVEL BUNCH-3rd Tuesday-Diane Garibaldi-diane744@verizon.net

BOOKWORMS – 1st Wednesday – Marcia Kornberg - marfran21@icloud.com

*RAVENEOUS READERS – 1st Wednesday – Lois Ryan shopinlo@hotmail.com

BOOKMARKS – 2nd Wednesday – Jane Greenberg - janeandarnold@aol.com

LITERARY LADIES – 2nd Wednesday – Polly Hammer – polly2@optonline.net

THE BOOKIES – 2nd Wednesday – Wendy Bouchard – shalamommy@aol.com

BRIGHT EYES - 3rd Wednesday 1-3pm - Arline Cazes - DCaz@aol.com

BETWEEN THE LINES - 2nd Wednesday 3 pm(virtual meeting)
Elena Leon - elena.leon@verizon.net

*BOOKENDS – 1st Thursday – Susan Ganz – sritag@optionline.net

MATTER OF FACT (NON FICTION) - 1st Thursday - Vickie Moskowitz -
vickiemosk@hotmail.com

PAGE TURNERS – 3rd Thursday – Rhonda Phillips  yrht55@yahoo.com

THURSDAY BOOK LOVERS - 1st Thursday - Ellen Kraut -jak3555@aol.com

*THE NEXT CHAPTER - 2nd Thursday -  Zoe Deeds zoedeeds@yahoo.com, Marilee Coughlin - link3634@gmail.com

A NOVEL APPROACH - 2nd Friday - Linda Alper -
lalper3@gmail.com

EVENING BOOK CLUBS (*=Open)

None at this time
 

SINGLES ONLY (*=Open)

EVENING

SAVY SINGLES - 3rd Friday PM - Cheryl Rosen cheryl_rosen@yahoo.com,  Fran Antonelli fca318@aol.com
 

DAY TRIPS (*=Open)

MONDAY ON THE MOVE - 2nd Monday - Janet Gerst cutandpaster@aol.com or Mollie Schwaber goodgolliemollie@aol.com

TUESDAY ADVENTURERS – 1st Tuesday –Bonnie Sibener- bpdancin@optonline.net  or Geri Gazzo – gerigazzo@gmail.com

U GO GIRLS (UGGS) – 1st Tuesday – Judi Rosenblatt - mrosen1020@aol.com or Lois Lewi-loislewi@yahoo.com

GET TOGETHER TUESDAYS - 1st Tuesday - Nancy Orens
nailpolishes99@gmail.com or Nancy Castaneda njcasta@optonline.net

TUESDAY TRAVELERS – 2nd Tuesday – Shirley Rosenberg – srosen718@aol.com and Marsha Ruback - msr1@optonline.net.

THE CULTURE CLUB (Museums, etc.) – 3rd Tuesday – Arlene Weber petoof@aol.com - or  Susan Kelly spkelly11@aol.com

TERRIFIC TUESDAYS – 4th Tuesday – Cheryl Bloom – hdtmom1@aol.com or Mary Ann Scafuri maryannscafuri320@gmail.com

JOYFUL JOURNEYS – 1st Wednesday – Catherine McCormick – cathyrnr@optonline.net or Lauren Smith - laurensmith43@yahoo.com

DELIGHTFUL DAY TRIPPERS (DDs) – 3rd Wednesday – Arlyn Wasserberg – arlynw@optonline.net or Elle Kapito - ekapito@optonline.net

 WEDNESDAY WANDERERS  – 3rd Wednesday – Michele Ross rossco47@aol.com, Barbara Stein bs23@aol.com

 MUSEUMS A-GO-GO (MAGG)  - 3rd Wednesday - Rhoda Berkson - rhodief@gmail.com
Ruby Wachtel - rbwach@icloud.com

 GO-GETTERS  – 4th Wednesday – Debbie Fox – vixen1@optonline.net or Joan Gold -fourgolds@aol.com

ETC., ETC. (Variety of Activity) – 4th Wednesday – Ellen Miller ellenerm@aol.com or  Barbara Belkin barbbells@aol.com

ARE WE THERE YET? - 4th Wednesday - Madelyn Fink - mgpc1@aol.com and Joyce Aronin - jta0726@aol.com

SOLE SISTERS- 4th Wednesday-Merrill Weiner-mweinercsw@gmail.com or Helene Karo -
hskaro49@gmail.com

GALS ON THE GO (GONG) -2nd Wednesday-Barbara Simonds bsimonds2004@gmail.com or
Fran Weiss franw516@gmail.com 

STEPPING OUT – 1st Thursday – Janis Amer – teachjaa@aol.com or Jane Tiger-jabt5@verizon.net

ANYTHING GOES- 2nd Thursday – Patty Mahon – mahonpatty@gmail.com and Carol Knecht – lfkcbs@gmail.com and Rhonda Eisenstadt – rpe711@aol.com

THURSDAY TRIPPERS – 2nd Thursday – jmlevy@optonline.net, angela.home@optonline.net, shabest@aol.com

OUT & ABOUT - 1st Thursday -
Benay Shear bshear15@gmail.com

ELEGANT EXPLORERS-4th Thursday-Judi Brenner judibrenner@gmail.com or Mindy Karton-Borneman-mkbspeech50@gmail.com or Robin Clark rbnclark@optimum.net

AWAY WE GO – 4th Thursday – Claudia Cohen – ccohenheadz@gmail.com

TREKKERS – 4th Thursday – Susan Ganz – sritag@optonline.net or Iris Governale - ilgovern@aol.com

THURSDAYS TOGETHER - 3rd Thursday - Janet Rose  happy210@optonline.net,  Susan Traina  susantraina@gmail.com

THURSDAY TROUPERS - 2nd Thursday -  Judi Summers
summerwalk@aol.com,  Susan Kelly - spkelly11@aol.com

SECOND WIND (Variety of Activities)* – 1st Friday – Valerie Neufeld - vneufeld1@hotmail.com or Pat Neidel patneidel@gmail.com

FROLICKING FRIDAYS – 2nd Friday – Marcia Sander – marcia88@aol.com or Ann Weiss - annbetsy@optonline.net

*MUSEE (Museums) - 2nd Friday - Mollie Schwaber goodgolliemollie@aol.com or Laura Schofer laura.schofer@gmail.com 

WILD WEEKEND WOMEN2nd Sunday – Roz Price ladygat@live.com or Marilyn Stern mhignettstern@optimum.net

WEEKEND WANDERERS – 3rd Sunday – Lindsey Draves - lpdraves@aol.com
Grace Conti – gzconti@gmail.com

*SUNDAY SOJOURNERS - 4th Sunday - Pat Bertell
Pmbertell@aol.com . Mollie Schwaber goodgolliemollie@aol.com

 
DAYTIME DINING OUT & GOURMET COOKING (*=Open)

*LUNCH BELLES – 1st Tuesday – Joanne Levy jmlevy@optonline.net 

*COOKIES - 2nd Monday - Debbie Fox vixen1@optonline.net or Merrill Weiner mweinercsw@gmail.com

*CHAT & NIBBLE (Variety) - 3rd Friday -  Ellen Breitman ellenbreitman@aol.com

LUNCHEON LADIES - 4th Thursday -  Fran Cassidy francassidy@optonline.net


*LET’S DO LUNCH - 3rd Thursday- Fran Sheps fsheps@optonline.net

*REALLY ELEGANT BABES EATING LUNCH (REBELS) 3rd Friday Vikki Finkelman geminigrandma0606@gmail.com or  Doreen Rose drozebiz@gmail.com


*THE EPICURES – 2nd Monday – Clorinda Cacace - candjc@optonline.net, Fran Antonelli  fca318@aol.com

SHAKERS & BAKERS - 4th Tuesday - Sue Krinskey - sueZQ25348@aol.com, Merrill Weiner - mweinercsw@gmail.com

EVENING DINING OUT & GOURMET COOKING (*=Open)

*EAT AROUND TASTY SPECIALITIES (EATS) 4th Tuesday – Diane Gillespiediane17gill@gmail.com

 
HAPPY HOUR (*=Open)
 
CHEERS - 2nd Thursday -  Diane Gillespie diane17gill@gmail.com

                                            CANASTA (*=Open)

*CANASTA ACES 2nd & 4th Monday –EXPERIENCED ONLY! -Suzanne Sham suestan@verizon.net and Joann Urban - joanndu3@yahoo.com

NORTH SHORE CANASTA - 1st & 3rd Monday - Susan Niedenthal-susansteve@optimum.net  

* MONDAY MELDERS - 2nd & 4th Monday (Beginners welcome) - Margie Haug basley3.mh@gmail.com

CANASTA CUTIES - 4th Wednesday (Noon)- Joanne Delprete - jdelprete47@optonline.net

MELDERS 2nd & 4th Thursday – Joan Herman – joan.herman3@gmail.com


MAH JONGG (*=Open)

SUFFOLK COUNTY MAH JONG 1st & 3rd Tuesday – Joan Herman joan.herman3@gmail.com

THE RACKETTES 3rd Tuesday – Janet Katzin - mallomom@optonline.net

SCRABBLE (*=Open)

*THE SCRABBLERS 1st Tuesday –  Janet Katzin - mallomom@optonline.net

GOLF(*=Open)

NASSAU/SUFFOLK GOLF – Fridays – Dianne Kaplan dkaplan119@yahoo.com, Evy Rothman evy4kids@aol.com, Linda Klayman lindaklay@aol.com

MEXICAN DOMINOES (*=Open)

*DOMINO DIVAS - 3rd Thursday (PM) -  Renee' Amico-Taback ra2taback@aol.com

 
CRAFTING (*=Open)

*CREATIVE CRAFTERS (CCs) 2nd Tuesday – Linda Alper lalper3@gmail.com

*KNITTING - 4th Tuesday - Faith Reiss faithreiss@gmail.com

*IMAGINE - 2nd Thursday - Ellen Golub-  calicoholly@hotmail.com

HIKING/WALKING (*= OPEN)

WANDERING WOMEN (Walking) – 4th Monday and 1st Thursday – Sue Krinsky – sueZQ25348@aol.com

TRAILBLAZERS (Walking) - 1st Wednesday & 3rd Friday - Pat Kelton pknykel@aol.com
 
ON YOUR FEET - 2nd Wednesday & 4th Friday -  Benay Shear bshear15@gmail.com

* HAPPY TRAILS (Walking/Hiking Weekends)-Lindsey Draves – lpdraves@aol.com

 
*SPIRITUAL SEEKERS - 2nd Monday (AM) - Toni Allen tonitales@aol.com

*SPIRITUAL SOULS - 1st Monday (AM) - Toni Allen tonitales@aol.com*
 
SOULFUL SISTERS - 4th Monday (AM) and and 2nd Wednesday- Toni Allen tonitales@aol.com

 *SOULFUL SEEKERS- 1ST Tuesday (AM) - To
ni Allen tonitales@aol.com

MOVIES (*=Open)

*MOVIE MAVENS- 4th Thursday - Patti Reinharz pattiacsw@aol.com

*MOVIE MATINEES 3rd Thursday – Claudia Cohenccohenheadz@gmail.com

SUFFOLK MOVIE LOVERS-  3rd Friday – Gloria Reeth-Stingley -
gloriattn@gmail.com

EXPLORATION(*=Open)
 
*VIRTUAL ARTS 1st Thursday (evening) Anne Ostling aostling2@gmail.com

*ALL THINGS ITALIAN - 4th Wednesday - Grace Conti gzconti@gmail.com or Pat Weber patcweber@gmail.com

THYME (Variety of Activity) – 4th Wednesday – Marcia Reed – mreed55555@earthlink.net

*COMIC RELIEF - 2nd Tuesday - Ellen Kraut jak3555@aol.com

*LAUGH WITH US - 3rd Monday -
Nancy Orens nextstop65@yahoo.com
Sharon Zemarkowitz shasha918@aol.com


*Holiday Celebration - Holidays Weekends - Helene Finkelstein bookpal25@gmail.com, Pat Bertell pmbertell@aol.com

                                           THEATRE (*=Open)

BROADWAY BABES - 1st Wednesday - Madelyn Fink mgpc1@aol.com or Carol Yablonsky ccab4@verizon.net

DRAMA DIVAS – 1st Wednesday – Diane Gillespie – diane17gill@gmail.com or Claudia Cohen - ccohenheadz@gmail.com

*SHOW STOPPERS - 1st Wednesday- MKbSpeech50@gmail.com, Robin Clark rbnclark@optimum.net

CURTAINS UP 2nd Wednesday – Diane Sacone gsacc1@aol.com 

*BROADWAY PLAYGIRLS3rd Wednesday – Marcia Sander marcia88@aol.com or Beth Bocian - bbocian@gmail.com

BROADWAY BOUND - 3rd Wednesday –Carol Comerford - cjay717@yahoo.com

CRAZY CRITICS  – 4th Wednesday – Carol Knecht – lfkcbs@gmail.com or Rhonda Eisenstadt - rpe711@aol.com

PLAYBILLS R US - 4th Wednesday - Melissa Berkowitz melissabk@nyc.rr.com or Jeri Gilbert jgilbertphd@gmail.com


OUTDOOR (*=Open)

BIKES & BITES - 4th Tuesday - Benay Shear bshear15@gmail.com, Maureen Quinn mequinn57@gmail.com 


 

  

 

 

Material from www.thetransitionnetwork.org, 18:39:27 September 22, 2021.
Copyright © The Transition Network 2021